Event Recap: Golden Ticket Fight Promotions 12

The dust has only just settled following an action packed night at the Starworks Warehouse, Wolverhampton, for GTFP 12, and if you missed out on the action (what were you thinking!?) then here is a quick run down on what you missed out on.

From the very first fight of the night, an exciting first round armbar victory for Danielle Lane over Louise Tanner, to the main event, an entertaining first round triangle choke win for Kim Thinghaughen over Jack Owen in the lightweight division, this card had it all!

We saw quick-fire knockouts, sublime submissions, gruelling comebacks and back and forth chess battles as the the night progressed, and one thing for certain is how good a job Golden Ticket Fight Promotions match makers Dan Cassell and Tim Wilde did in creating a card that was equally competitive as it was compelling.

The 17 fight card was made up of 15 amateur bouts between some of the best up and coming talents from the UK, Ireland and further afield, featuring gyms such as Renegade MMA, SBG Ireland, UTC Staffs and Arte Suave amongst many others, in addition to two professional match ups.

No time was wasted in the opening three fights of the night as the crowd were treated to three finishes; Lane’s armbar, a 3rd round rear naked choke win for Nick Fenn and a 3rd round armbar victory for Koyar Kurdy.

Even when the crowd served up a finish, they were on the edge of their seats for the back and forth bouts that went the distance; which included wins for Robbie Brotherson, Kieran Timmins, Adam Cronin, Redgie Hingston and the very impressive Wez Tully.

Comeback of the night (and my personal pick for submission of the night) went to Dan Tindall as he overcame huge adversity in round one to lock on an anaconda choke one minute into in round two, leaving the crowd, commentators and his opponent Lucasz Kulpa stunned.

The closing bout of the prelims saw home favourite Sophie Luxton score a crushing knockout of the night victory over SBG Ireland’s Megan Hamill with a vicious striking display within a minute of the opening round.

The main card was equally, if not more entertaining than the prelims. Will Jones kicked off proceedings with a second round rear naked choke win, followed by a dominant wrestling masterclass from Arte Suave’s Marcus Rasmussen – who was had clearly learned a thing or two from cornerman Mads Burnell – on route to a decision win over Bradley Owen.

Next on the bill the amateur flyweight title was up for grabs as Andy Yates and Mo Zubair battled it out for what was without doubt fight of the night. The two competitors went to war for five hard rounds in a back and forth contest that could have gone either way, but it was Yates who had his hand raised and the belt wrapped around his waist.

The co main event saw James Owen impressively knock out Alan Brykalski within two minutes of the first round, before the eagerly anticipated main event; which ended in disappointment for the hometown man Jack Owen, but elation for the victorious, much more experienced, Kim Thinghaugen, who finished it on the mat via triangle choke in round one.

From the match making, to the production, to the quality of fighters on display, GTFP ticked every box with distinction, and no doubt the team habe more in store for GTFP 13 later this year.

All of the action from GTFP 12 is now available on the Golden Ticket Fight Promotions Youtube channel, and make sure keep an eye out for ticket information for GTFP 13 which goes down on December 13th.

A full breakdown of the GTFP 12 results are as follows:

Danielle Lane def. Louise Tanner via armbar rd 1

Nick Fenn def. Adam McGill via rear naked choke rd 3

Koyar Kurdy def. Charlie Callaghan via armbar rd 3

Robbie Brotherson def. Jordan Little via split decision

Julian Harris def. Lewis Wadsworth rd 2

Kieran Timmins def. Rafal Barnus via unanimous decision

Kieran Williams def. Connor Norsworth via TKO rd 1

Adam Cronin def. Oisin Keoghan via UD

Redgie Hingston def. Shea Hammond via UD

Wez Tully def. Kacper Kzdunczyk via UD

Dan Tindall def. Lucasz Kulpa via anaconda choke rd 2

Sophie Luxton def. Megan Hamill via KO rd 1

Will Jones def. Rafael Neuberg via rear naked choke rd 2

Marcus Rasmussen def. Bradley Owen via UD

Andy Yates def. Mo Zubair via UD

James Dixon def. Alan Brykalski via KO rd 1

Kim Thinghaugen def. Jack Owen via triangle choke rd 1

Article written by Jon Prentice – Newsome MMA

Facebook: /NewsomeMMA
Twitter: @Newsome_MMA
Instagram: @newsomemma
YouTube: /NewsomeMMA
Snapchat: Newsome_MMA